pondering…

05Feb09

There are a few things I wish I could bottle up and remember forever.  These are the things that a picture can’t capture or a video cannot do justice.  I’ve been working on a list of the things I want to cherish in my old age.  I wonder if Mary pondered the huge miracles or if the list in her heart was composed of small intimate occurrences in her daily life.

my list

the story of how God brought Jerod & i together… so unlikely

the tender touch of Elijah’s soft bare back

the summer after my senior year in high school when my brother, sister and i got the chance to be roommates for the last time

the fact that Elijah’s skin smells exactly like Jerod’s 🙂

the brush of Jerod’s young cheek on my own

the distinct sweet smell of my mom

the way Elijah will turn toward my voice-even when he was only a few hours old

the way my stomach would sink when i got caught doing something wrong by my dad

what my daily life has been like in every phase of my life… high school, college, um, brasil, ridgeview, housewife… the mundane but exhilarating existence as i plugged through


But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.

Luke 2.19

2 Responses to “pondering…”

  1. So sweet…. 🙂

  2. 2 Emy Leon Garces

    I just sat here in front of the computer for ten minutes because I was speechless. One of my moments was standing for the last time in Mr. G’s class feeling this tightness in my heart because I was losing the most incredible friends that, till this day I haven’t found.


Leave a Reply

