School’s Almost Out….

19May08

Yes!!!  Only 8 more days until I am off for summer time!  There are advantages to being a teacher of middle schoolers. 

So I’ve started brainstorming what I hope to do this summer.  Our church, the Austin Stone (www.austinstone.org) offers a summer class to improve your leadership style.  I hope to do this class.  The second part of the class is designed to help you connect and get involved in an area where you would like to serve.  There are two options that interest me for the second part of the class, small group leadership & art and artists. 

I have a desire to lead a small group of younger, single ladies.  When I was single I wanted to be a part of an older woman’s life so I could learn how to juggle all the demands of being a woman and loving God with my whole being.  I am definitely not an expert but I want to be available for other girls who might want to hang out and explore this journey together.

The art & artist track is attractive to me as well because I act here in Austin.  I have an agent, Liz Atherton (www.ciaotalents.com) and I go on auditions for commercials and movies.  I enjoy acting, but many times acting and what God has called me to are at odds.  I want to learn how to balance living abundantly in Christ, acting, and my acting friends, so that at the end of the day I lived my life the best that I could to the fame of God with minimal regrets.  That is a lot harder to do in real life than on paper.  Maybe the art & artist track could help me with those tough decisions. 

A few other goals I have for myself are to write a children’s book & take an painting class (www.amoa.org).  I have an idea for the book already, so it should be fun. 

Somewhere in the middle of all this I hope Jerod & I will be able to go on vacation together.  We also hope to prepare a nursery this summer for the new addition to our family. 

I will keep you updated on the progress of our summer endeavors. 🙂

One Response to “School’s Almost Out….”

  1. 1 Andrea

    Wow! That’s a lot of stuff!! Fun! You’ll have a packed summer! Cool!


Leave a Reply

